BCTIA Names Several Startups Among Impact Award Finalists

bc

Today the BC Technology Industry Association (BCTIA) announced the finalists for the 2014 Technology Impact Awards (TIAs). Several notable startups in the province were named as finalists.

The theme of the awards this year was of ‘BC’s Mark on the World’. BCTIA said the finalists “embolden British Columbia’s reputation for global excellence across a wide range of technologies including enterprise software, hardware, health care and cleantech.”

“The 2014 TIAs finalists illustrates the continuing maturity of the BC technology industry, and exemplifies the ingenuity, strength, and diversity of our ecosystem,” said president Bill Tam. “With companies like these, it’s easy to see why Vancouver and BC continue to gain global recognition as the place to start and grow a tech company.”

The Technology Impact Awards are presented in eight categories: Adoption of Technology; Excellence in Product Innovation; Most Promising Pre-Commercial Technology; Community Engagement; Team of the Year; Most Promising Startup; Emerging Company of the Year; and Company of the Year.

Particularly fruitful for startups were the Excellence in Product Innovation, Most Promising Pre-Commercial Technology and, of course, Most Promising Startup.

Screen shot 2014-04-25 at 3.36.33 PM

Here’s the companies that made the cut by category:

Adoption of Technology
FCV Technologies – www.fcv.ca and WorkBC – www.workbc.ca
Traction on Demand – www.tractionondemand.com and TELUS – http://www.telus.com/
Webtech Wireless Inc. – www.webtechwireless.com and Vedder Transport Ltd. –
www.veddertransportation.com

Read: Vancouver’s Webtech Wireless Shows it’s Not Just Startups That Pivot

Excellence in Product Innovation
Cooledge Lighting Inc. – http://www.cooledgelighting.com
dPoint Technologies Inc. – http://www.dpoint.ca
Elastic Path – http://www.elasticpath.com

Read: Vancouver’s Elastic Path Software Gets $5 Million

Most Promising Pre-Commercial Technology
Axine Water Technologies – http://www.axinewater.com
Global Relay – http://www.globalrelay.com
UrtheCast – http://www.urthecast.com

Read: UrtheCast Snaps Its First Image From Space

Community Engagement
HP Advanced Solutions Inc. – www.hpadvancedsolutions.com
PaySavvy Canada, Inc. – www.paysavvy.com
Traction on Demand – www.tractionondemand.com

Read: PaySavvy is Taking The Utility Out Of Workforce Management

Team of the Year
BC Hydro Data Centre Migration Team – http://www.bchydro.com
Schneider Electric MicroGrid Lab Team – http://www.schneider-electric.com

Most Promising Start‐Up
Fusion Pipe Software Solutions – http://www.fusionpipe.com
PHEMI Health Systems – www.phemi.com
Procurify – http://www.procurify.com
Trulioo – http://www.trulioo.com

Read: Vancouver’s Identity Verification Experts Trulioo Lands $6 Million

Emerging Company of the Year
Aquatic Informatics Inc. – http://www.aquaticinformatics.com
QuickMobile – http://www.quickmobile.com/
Zafin – http://www.zafin.com

Read: A River of Data Runs Through Vancouver’s Aquatic Informatics

Company of the Year
Alpha Technologies Ltd. – www.alpha.ca
Fortinet – www.fortinet.com
Global Relay – www.globalrelay.net